A classic East London café that has been serving the local community for over a century!
Priamo Pellicci began working in the cafe in 1900 and it was here that his wife Elide brought up their seven children single-handedly whilst running the cafe below to keep the family after her husband’s death in 1931. Elide is the E. Pellicci whose initial is still emblazoned in chrome upon the primrose – hued vitroglass fascia and her portrait remains inside the cafe, she and her husband counterbalance each other eternally on either side of the serving hatch in the cafe.
Mr. Nevio Snr., who was born upstairs, ran the business after Mrs. Elide Pellicci until he passed away in 2008. Mr. Nevio’s wife, Maria, is the head of the family business today. She has been cooking since 1966 and has natural charisma that makes her a perfect successor to Elide. Son Nevio Jnr., daughter Anna and cousin Tony make the Pellicci cafe family complete.
Pellicci’s boasts an ornate panelled wooden decor, carved by regular customer and carpenter Achille Capocci back in 1946. Thanks to his handiwork, Pellicci’s has now been awarded Grade II listed status by English Heritage.